Turning on the Lights

Hi my name is Adam and I’m the new Collections Engagement Officer for the National Trust in the South East Region and this is a blog that I’ll be updating over the course of the next year.

As well as getting to know this entirely new role I’ve been stressing and thinking about exactly what I’m going to write about over the last two weeks. I’ve been drawing ideas from lots of different blogs around the internet and have came to the following conclusion; although this blog is about collections owned by the national trust I didn’t want to make another version of Emile de Bruijn’s excellent blog Treasure Hunt.

So what I’ve decided to do is leave it fairly open, I’m going to talk about collections and objects, but I’m also going to talk about the ways we and others have put the ‘spotlight’ on collections. I’m going to talk about using social media, augmented reality and online exhibitions. I may also from time to time talk about other things. So I’m open to suggestions and ideas so please feel free to leave any comments!

2 Comments

Filed under augmented reality, Collections, National Trust, online exhibitions, Social Media

2 responses to “Turning on the Lights

  1. Hi Adam, welcome to the blogosphere. The ‘spotlight’ theme sounds good. You will probably find that the blog develops its own identity over time, as you explore themes that are relevant to your work and the collections you deal with. The responses from readers can also provide inspiration, as can posts on other blogs. I will add a link to your blog on mine.

Leave a Reply

