Second Life Museums

One thing about driving for a long time is after the first couple of hours the conversation turns to surreal topics. One of the topics of conversation that did come up was about 2nd life during my trip to Fort George. Having seen it installed on my brothers laptop before we set off (he tells me he doesn’t play it though!) we inevitably talked about it being in the news a couple of months back. My brother was explaining to me about Universities were giving lectures using 2nd life as it was a cheap way of doing distance learning.

However being a bit of a geek I was interested in if anyone had used it for building Museums. So I typed ‘2nd life Museum’ into google this afternoon and not too much to my suprise lots of people had got there first. Heres a video of the 2nd life representation of the Natural History Museum in London:

It seems I’m not the only one who has had the idea, heres an interesting article from 2007 Museums and the Web Conference. Much like real life, 2nd life has its very own museum community.

The whole thing has got me thinking could we use 2nd life too? You can create anything you like in 2nd life according to the website. So why not an entire digital replica of one of our properties?

Leave a comment

Filed under augmented reality, online exhibitions, Social Media

Leave a Reply

