Out and About

It’s been a while since I’ve posted anything, partly because WordPress was playing up on my laptop and partly because I’ve been out of the office and generally very busy these past few weeks.

I’ve been busy beavering away on setting up collection highlights for our properties for the launch of our Collections Online, which means our Collections will be accessible to the public.

I’ve been working on Collection Highlights like this Meissen porcelain tea pot and cover displaying a ‘Chinoiserie’ style of oriental flowers and gilding created by Johann Gregarious Höroldt, Meissen’s chief painter and director. Höroldt created a wide variety of imaginary designs in a Chinese style for the European market through the mid 18th century. Part of the large collection of Meissen owned by Mrs Greville.
 

As well as writing collection highlights, I’ve also been out and about keeping my eyes peeled for anything digital media related. I’ve attached a picture of my favourite idea below. It’s from Sainsbury’s and it highlights the fact they have a local facebook page. I think it’s a great idea as I think most people wouldn’t think they would! It’s big, bold and eyecatching and you instantly associate it with Facebook. 

A good idea at Sainsbury's, this sign not only tells me that they have a facebook page but also why I should join it! Something that could potentially be used anywhere, including Museums and Heritage Sites.

What I also like about it is the fact it not only tells you that Sainsbury’s have a facebook page but also why you should add Sainsbury’s on Facebook; to recieve news, deals, recipes and top tips. These are all fairly good reasons and the page currently has around 290 likes, which isn’t bad for a supermarket. I think something which inspire more emotion like a good heritage site or museum should would do a lot better!

Leave a comment

Filed under Collections, Social Media

Leave a Reply

